Learn about the Mayor's Youth Sports Ticket Program

AT&T Stadium to Host Big 12 Football Championship

The Big 12 Conference announces that AT&T Stadium in Arlington, Texas, has been selected as the site for the 2017-21 Big 12 Football Championship games.
After a six-year hiatus, the title game returns in 2017, matching the top two finishers in the Conference standings.
"There is great anticipation with the return of the Big 12 Football Championship and we look forward to hosting the event in AT&T Stadium for the next five years," said Commissioner Bob Bowlsby. "The building is a state of the art facility and offers many amenities that will be enjoyed by our institutions and fans."
Under terms of current television agreements with FOX Sports and ESPN, FOX will carry the game in 2017 and odd-numbered years through 2023, while ESPN will handle the telecasts in even-numbered years through the 2024 game.
AT&T Stadium opened in 2009 with a seating capacity of 80,000 that can be maximized to over 100,000 with standing room. Among its many features are a retractable roof, one of the world's largest high definition video screens and a collection of contemporary art. The building serves as home to the Dallas Cowboys and hosts a variety of other events.
The last two Big 12 Championship games were played at AT&T Stadium and decided by a total of four points. No. 2 Texas kicked a field goal with one second left to edge past No. 22 Nebraska, 13-12, in 2009. The following season, No. 9 Oklahoma upended No. 13 Nebraska, 23-20, behind two second-half field goals. The 2001 championship was also played in the Dallas-Fort Worth Metroplex at Texas Stadium, the previous home of the Cowboys.
The Big 12 Championship was held annually from 1996-2010. The previous 15 games featured five contests in which the higher-ranked team was upset and five that were decided by a touchdown-or-less.

Big 12 Football Championship Site History
2010    AT&T Stadium (previously Cowboys Stadium) - Arlington, Texas
2009    AT&T Stadium (previously Cowboys Stadium) - Arlington, Texas
2008    Arrowhead Stadium - Kansas City, Mo.
2007    Alamodome - San Antonio, Texas
2006    Arrowhead Stadium - Kansas City, Mo.
2005    Reliant Stadium - Houston, Texas
2004    Arrowhead Stadium - Kansas City, Mo.
2003    Arrowhead Stadium - Kansas City, Mo.
2002    Reliant Stadium - Houston, Texas
2001    Texas Stadium - Irving, Texas
2000    Arrowhead Stadium - Kansas City, Mo.
1999    Alamodome - San Antonio, Texas
1998    TWA Dome - St. Louis, Mo.
1997    Alamodome - San Antonio, Texas
1996    TWA Dome - St. Louis, Mo.