Learn about the Mayor's Youth Sports Ticket Program

Dallas ISD Announces Inaugural Athletic Hall of Fame Class


DALLAS - Davey O'Brien, Ernie Banks, Jerry Rhome, Dave Stallworth, Michael Carter, Fran Harris, Tim Brown, Larry Johnson, Chryste Gaines Courtney and Freddie James – names that have undoubtedly impacted school athletics in Dallas – have each been selected for induction into the inaugural class of the Dallas ISD Athletic Hall of Fame.
"Sports is renowned for building character and self-confidence in young athletes and uniting diverse communities," said Superintendent of Schools Michael Hinojosa. "These are reasons Dallas ISD created the Athletic Hall of Fame and why the entire community shares in the excitement of recognizing the inaugural class of inductees.
The district's Athletic Hall of Fame is a first of its kind recognition, which, according to some, is long overdue given the district's storied history of athletic accomplishments. Administrators created this program to honor individuals who have accomplished significant milestones in athletics at the district, local, state and sometimes national levels.  
"This event will shine a spotlight on our district's great athletic legacy. It is just the first step in our efforts to honor the hundreds of athletes, coaches and supporters who competed within the various sports programs," he said. "Tasked with selecting the first class of honorees, our staff faced a major challenge in choosing only ten. Nonetheless, it is an impressive list that justifies the pride we all feel for those who have served as champions both on and off the field."
The Dallas ISD Athletic Hall of Fame acknowledges those who have raised the level of public awareness and appreciation for high school athletics through their distinguished achievement and excellence, both on and off the field of competition. Honorees will include former student-athletes, coaches, administrators, contest officials, media personnel, sports medicine personnel, athletic trainers, or distinguished volunteers. Whether active or retired, those chosen must exemplify the highest standards of sportsmanship, ethical conduct and moral character.
As a requirement of induction, each living inductee will attend a special induction ceremony this spring to honor the Hall of Fame Class of 2018. The event is set for 6 p.m., Friday, May 4, 2018, at Ellis Davis Field House.
Below is a complete list of the inaugural 2018 Athletic Hall of Fame class:
Ernie Banks*; Booker T. Washington High School ('50); baseball
Tim Brown; Woodrow Wilson High School ('84), football
Michael Carter; Thomas Jefferson High School ('79); football
Chryste Gaines Courtney; South Oak Cliff High School ('88); track and field
Fran Harris, South Oak Cliff High School ('84); basketball
Freddie James; David W. Carter High School, head football coach
Larry Johnson; Skyline High School ('87); basketball
Davey O'Brien*; Woodrow Wilson High School ('35); football
Jerry Rhome; Sunset High School ('60); football
Dave Stallworth*; James Madison High School ('61); basketball